The origin of the Fiesta Bowl comes from the Western Athletic Conference. Upset that its champions in 1968 and '69 were not invited to any bowl and 1970 champion Arizona State played in the Peach Bowl, conference supporters created the Fiesta Bowl, which initally guaranteed an invite for its champion.

The bowl's tie-in with the WAC ended in 1978, when Arizona and Arizona State moved to the then-Pac-10 conference.

Memorable moments

• In 1987, Miami and Penn State, the nation's top two teams battled for the national championship in the Fiesta Bowl. Penn State won 14-10 and the game drew the largest television rating in college football history at that time.

• In 1991, several schools turned down invitations to the Fiesta Bowl because the state of Arizona did not recognize the Martin Luther King holiday.

• In 1999, the Fiesta Bowl played host to the first BCS national championship game. Tennessee defeated Florida State 23-16.

• The 2007 Fiesta Bowl has been called one of the greatest college football games ever played. Oklahoma scored 25 unanswered points to take the lead for the first time with little more than a minute remaining in the game. A total of 37 points were scored between 1:26 left in regulation and the end of the game. Boise State,down 35-28 with 1:02 left, pulled off the "hook and lateral" play to tie the game and send it into overtime. The overtime culminated with a variation of the "Statue of Liberty" play on a gutsy 2-point conversion that sealed the win for Boise State.

• At the end of the 2007 game, Boise State running back Ian Johnson proposed to his girlfriend, head cheerleader Chrissy Popadics, on live television. She accepted.

1971Arizona State45Florida State38
1972Arizona State49Missouri35
1973Arizona State28Pittsburgh7
1974Oklahoma State16BYU6
1975Arizona State17Nebraska14
1977Penn State42Arizona State30
1980Penn State31Ohio State19
1982Penn State26Southern California10
1983Arizona State32Oklahoma21
1984Ohio State28Pittsburgh23
1987Penn State14Miami10
1988Florida State31Nebraska28
1989Notre Dame34West Virginia21
1990Florida State41Nebraska17
1992Penn State42Tennessee17
1995Colorado41Notre Dame24
1997Penn State38Texas15
1997Kansas State35Syracuse18
1999Tennessee23Florida State16
2001Oregon State41Notre Dame9
2003*Ohio State31Miami24 (2 OT)
2004Ohio State35Kansas State28
2006Ohio State34Notre Dame20
2007Boise State43Oklahoma42 (OT)
2008West Virginia48Oklahoma28
2009Texas24Ohio State21
2010Boise State17TCU10
2012Oklahoma State41Stanford38 (OT)
2013Oregon35Kansas State17
Two games played in 1997 (January and December); no game played in 1998.